A visit to the PLN ning

Today I joined the site for educators, http://edupln.ning.com.  I enjoyed the site.  The site contains videos, blogs, discussion forums, Social Media Information, and links to educational and tutorial sites.  The tutorials and social media info could be really useful for someone new to social networking.  There are tutorials on things like facebook, jing (on the linked teacher training videos site) and other social networking tools.

My favorite video was Will Richardson’s (that’s right, the one that is already on the class wikipage for unit 4).  I looked at a bunch of other videos as well:

Myths and Opportunities by Alan November:
A video on  globalization video (about 13:00) – It was a beautiful video, a work of art, but a bit too slow paced for me.

Eric Sheninger on Twitter in education:
A Principal discusses his enthusiasm for twitter.  Many commenters liked his endorsement of twitter

Welcome to My PLE!:
This was a well made video of a 7th grader giving a tour of her personal learning environment. It shows how great the role of the internet has become.

There are many more videos than can be exhibited on the home page.  Its worthwhile to check out the full selection of videos.

Since I’m inexperienced in electronic networking, participating in PLN could be a good tool for my professional development.  I found Will Richardson’s video to be persuasive on this topic; being a member of PLN is a good way for educators to practice networking and attempt to catch up to the kids they teach.  This site is also very useful for its links to educational resources.

This entry was posted in ED526, ED526 Week 4. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A visit to the PLN ning

  1. That 7th grader girl speaks with amazing confidence. I was quite impressed by the video!

  2. I am no longer sure the place you’re getting your info, but good topic. I needs to spend a while learning more or working out more. Thank you for excellent information I was looking for this info for my mission.

Leave a Reply

